Churches

The temple of Christ the Savior

The Cathedral of the Moscow diocese, and the Russian Orthodox Church. The decision to build it "in commemoration of our gratitude to Divine Providence for saving Russia from threatening to it death" was adopted by Emperor Alexander I in 1812. The temple was laid in1839 on the site of Alexis nunnery. In 1883, it was regarded as the highest building in Moscow and the biggest church in Russia. In 1931 the cathedral was blown up by order of Stalin. It was rebuilt only by the 2000 year.

Church of the Tikhvin Icon of Our Lady in Alekseevsky

Built in 1676-1682 by order of Tsar Aleksei Mikhailovich

Church of Tikhon Zadonsky on Shiryaev Field at Sokolniki

The first church on this site appeared in the second half of the 19th century, but it did not stand for long.

Martha-Mary Convent of Mercy

It was founded by Grand Duchess Elizaveta Fyodorovna in 1909 after the death in 1905 of her husband, Grand Duke and Moscow Governor General Sergei Alexandrovich, at the hands of a terrorist, as a congregation for the Sisters of Mercy not as a monastery, but similar to it according to its charter.

Cathedral Panteleimon Church of St. Nicholas Monastery Perervinskogo

Church of Elias the Prophet (Exaltation of Christ the Lord) in Cherkizovo

The Moscow church named after Holy Elias in Cherkizovo was built in 1690 on the site of a burned wooden church that stood here already in 1370. In the 14th century, Cherkizovo village belonged to an émigré from the Horde, Prince Serkiz, who sold it to his countryman Ilya Azakov. The latter, in all likelihood, also established the very old Church of Elias here in honour of his saint.

Church of the Deposition of the Robe on Donskaya

The wooden church was built in 1690 on the site of the ceremonial meeting in 1625 of the Moscow clergy with the embassy of the Persian Shah Abbas, giving Tsar Mikhail Fyodorovich and Patriarch Philaret a gift of one of the holiest relics of the Christian world – the Deposition of the Robe – a part of the clothes in which Christ was carried to Golgotha.

Church of Abba Poemen at New Vorotniki

The settlement of Moscow’s vorotniki (gatekeepers at the city gates) was initially located at the walls of the Kremlin. Their settlement was situated next to Tverskaya Street. The neighbouring Vorotnikovsky and Staropimenovsky Lanes were named in honour of the church of the vorotnikis’ patron, Abba Poemen.

Church of Holy Zosima and Savvaty the Miracle Workers of Solovki in Golyanovo

The church, dedicated to the honour of the founder of Solovetsky Monastery, was erected in 1842 in a style combining elements of late classicism with empire style. The church was closed during the Soviet era and manufacturing was located in the premises, which led to significant damages. Currently the church has been restored and it is used for worship.

Church of Elijah the Prophet in Obydensky lane

The church has an unusual name because its wooden predecessor was erected on the site in just one day: "the day" is mentioned in ancient times. The stone church was built in 1702 and has been in service for more than 300 years. The church got lucky, for unlike many Orthodox churches, it was not neglected or closed during Soviet times. Now many religious relics can be found here.