Monasteries

Nikolo-Perervinsky Monastery

The male monastery was mentioned for the first time in sources from 1623, and another version says it was founded in the 15th century.

Candlemas Monastery

Holy Trinity Lavra of St Sergius

The Orthodox Monastery of the Holy Trinity was founded by Venerable Sergius of Radonezh in 1337. Over hundreds of years, the Trinity Lavra of St Sergius has been one of the most honoured Russian holy sites, and the largest centre of spiritual education and culture.

Novospassky Monastery

Founded in the 13th century at the site of the present day Danilovsky Monastery (near metro station Tulskaya), but after several decades in 1330, Ivan Kalita transferred the cloister to Borovitskiy Hill in the Kremlin. However, in the 15th century, Savior Monstery was transferred to a more spacious site, receiving the name Novospasskiy (New Savior). M: Krestyankaya Zastava.

Novodevichy Convent

One of the most famous monasteries in Moscow was supposedly founded around 1524. In pre-revolutionary Russia its status among other monasteries was quite high, and many women from royal and boyar families took their vows here, which meant that they sacrificed both their land and wealth to the monastery.

Krutitsy

An architecturally unique town church, built at the beginning of the 17th century, seemingly transports you back to a more slow-paced atmosphere away from the bustle of the modern megapolis. M: Proletarskaya.

High-Petrovsky Monastery

Known since the 14 century, although the oldest structure on this site dates back only to the 16th century. Because the Naryshkiny burial vault is located here, this church houses the tombs of many rich people and also the remains of numerous saints. M: Tverskaya, Pushkinskaya, Chekhovskaya, Trubnaya.

Zachatievsky monastery

The first convent in Russia was founded in the 1360s and received its name from the Church of the Conception of St. Anna. M: Kropotkinskaya.

Simonov Monastery

Founded in the late 14th century by Sergius of Radonezh’s pupil and nephew Fyodor (who later became Archbishop of Rostov).

Zaikonospassky Monastery

Male monastery established in the 15th century. The name Spassky (“Saviour”) “behind (“za”) the icon rows” comes from its location in Kitai Gorod – a place in Moscow known for lively trade – on shelves where icons were traded. A theological school was founded within the walls of the monastery, later reorganised as a Slavic-Greek-Latin academy. The monastery was closed during the Soviet era. Now it has been returned to the congregation. Since 1992, services were started again in the Cathedral of Our Saviour of the Holy Face and the monastery resumed its activities in 2010.